Don’t Give Up On Me Now

I was in a poetry writing mood. And this one sort of came out more lyrical than I expected. If I ever actually learn to play the guitar, maybe something will come of it. There’s already bits of tunes in my head. : ) Just one of those nights where I’m realizing all that has changed and how much all of that change means for my future. This life may not always be easy and full of lemon drops and gum drops (oh, what a rain that would be!), but it’s still beautiful and it’s still all a part of what God has in store for me… And I just got inspiration for another poem… Maybe I’ll have to jot some down before I go to bed… Enjoy!

Open this book and read the tattered pages
Sometimes it still feels like I’m setting stages
To smile the biggest and laugh so hard
No, I never knew change would go this far
Everything I thought I knew has been turned around
And the aftershock of the change leaves a painful sound
My heart still feels the tremors and it’s sometimes scared to beat
While I’m weaker than I’ll admit, I refuse to state defeat

I’ve been walking around with my heart in my hands
Trying to find someone else who understands
While my light is the brightest it’s ever been
Each day it takes all I have to turn it back on again
I want you to see how much has changed in me
But I’m finding it hard to let all the changes go free
I’ll make it through this mud in time, I know
I’m just getting tired and moving is hard and slow

So be there for me, care for me
Be aware of me, say a prayer for me
And don’t you ever give up on me
No, don’t you dare
Hold on to me, travel on with me
Look out for me, cry out with me
But don’t you ever give up on me
Please, don’t give up

This is the hardest I’ve ever fought to win the fight
But I’m determined to beat this – I know this is right
The goal is worth the ride but it’s longer than I thought
What I wanted as the end before I have to say is not
And now I’m driving blind while He steers me on
While I know I’m safe, I just don’t feel as strong
His hand’s on my shoulder and it soothes the shaking
But it’s hard to remember that there is good in the breaking

So be there for me, care for me
Be aware of me, say a prayer for me
And don’t you ever give up on me
No, don’t you dare
Hold on to me, travel on with me
Look out for me, cry out with me
But don’t you ever give up on me
Please, don’t give up on me
Just hug me now, love me now
Take care of my heart with me now
And don’t you ever give up on me
No, don’t you dare
Please don’t give up on me now

2 Comments to “Don’t Give Up On Me Now”

  1. Some how I knew you were the writer of this poem. I was moved beyond words when I heard it at Rock the Mountain. As I’ve gotten to know a little of you through your writings, it makes me wish to know you in person. My heart aches with you, but more profoundly, it rejoices in knowing that the Lord has a plan for you. May the Lord continue to bless you as you travel down the “narrow way”.

Leave a Reply

