Living a Truly Biblical Lifestyle

When I got my Subaru Outback, my parents got me a personalized license plate. I currently have a white Outback (which I love) with 2COR513 as my license plate. Most people see this and are like “oh, Bible verse. Cool.” The other day at work, I was taking a few minutes to sit outside in the sun versus inside in the cold air conditioning when one of my co-workers came out and actually asked me what the verse said.

If it seems that we are crazy, it is for the glory of God. And if we are in our right minds, it is for your benefit. (NLT)

If we are out of our mind, it is for the sake of God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. (NIV)

After telling her what it meant, she simply said “Wow. I really like that. I’ll have to look it up when I get home. Corinthians, huh?”

This verse became my promise verse years ago after an amazing summer with Appalachian Advent Christian Summer Ministries. Most of you know I am a bit weird and can be a bit too crazy sometimes, and so this just seemed so right for me. I didn’t really fit anywhere else growing up other than in the presence of God and those who loved Him.

Now, however, this verse has taken on a completely different meaning for me.

If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first. The world would love you as one of its own if you belonged to it, but you are no longer part of the world. I chose you to come out of the world, so it hates you.
~John 15:16-17

I have given them your word. And the world hates them because they do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. I’m not asking you to take them out of the world, but to keep them safe from the evil one. They do not belong to this world any more than I do. Make them holy by your truth; teach them your word, which is truth. Just as you sent me into the world, I am sending them into the world. And I give myself as a holy sacrifice for them so they can be made holy by your truth.
~John 17:14-19

As Christians, we are not meant for this world – we have been made new by Christ to live a life for Him, which doesn’t just mean shedding our past wrongs and steering clear of any new ones. It doesn’t just include good deeds, steady prayer, consistent worship and continual fellowship with other believers. It is a radical lifestyle change that does not fit with the world. We are taking the parts of the Bible that “make sense” to us and aren’t “too crazy” for the rest of the world and are forgetting about the rest of God’s word – His truth that he left for us to guide us. We need to choose to live a truly biblical lifestyle.

And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from His glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.
~Philippians 4:19

And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.
~2 Corinthians 9:8

We know that God will provide for us – and oh, how He has in so many ways! When we’ve needed an apartment to live in, or a new job, a ride to work, the money to cover a certain bill… In so many ways, God has provided for our needs and we see that. But have we actually accepted all that is implied here? All the things that our Father is saying He will do for us?

Is there any way you are restricting God’s offering of providence in your life?

Lately I’ve heard and been a part of the thought process of “Of course I know that God will provide and that He takes care of all our needs, but God won’t do ____________.”

Why?

For with God, nothing will be impossible.
~Luke 1:37

But He said “The things which are impossible with men are possible with God.”
~Luke 18:27

God can provide healing for something as simple as a bruise to as complex as a life-threatening disease – I mean, let’s be honest, He conquered the grave. Not to mention the numerous lives He and His disciples touched and healed. He literally wrote the book on healing, so who are we to say what He can and can’t heal? And as His children who have been made new through His love and His blood, He has given us a connection with Him to be His hands and feet to the pains and sufferings of this world – to heal them in His name.

And these signs will accompany those who believe: In my name they will drive out demons; they will speak in new tongues; they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.
~Mark 16:17-18

Are any of you sick? You should call for the elders of the church to come and pray over you, anointing you with oil in the name of the Lord. Such a prayer offered in faith will heal the sick, and the Lord will make you well. And if you have committed any sins, you will be forgiven.
~James 5:14-15

God can provide for financial, residential and educational needs. Our Heavenly Father knows the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37:4) and wants to give us more than we could ever want or ask for! If you want to go to school but don’t have the money, pray and trust God. If you have some bills coming up that you haven’t been able to save for and you are about to go into panic mode because you don’t have the money, pray and trust God.

Please note that in no way am I saying we should all become lazy and just let God do all the work. Absolutely not. We were created to work, to love, to be God’s hands and feet to this world that He created – and He didn’t just do it for kicks and giggles to prolong our time away from Him, either. While we are on this earth, we are to bring Him glory and store up our riches in heaven – sort of like how many of us are saving up for retirement : P . So many people can be reached by God through us as we carry out His will. However, we are in the world, not of the world.

Do not love this world nor the things it offers you, for when you love the world, you do not have the love of the Father in you. For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessionns. These are not from the Father, but are from this world. And this world is fading away, along with everything that people crave. But anyone who does what pleases God will liveforever.
~1 John 2:15-17

There are so many things that we have allowed to invade the church and Christian lifestyle with how our lives should be lived. There are so many different types of insurances and so many other back up plans that society has told us is “normal” to put in place for assurance. Why are we storing up assurances in this world? Why do we need a back up plan?

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!

He is all the assurance we need! If God is for us, who or what can be against us? No one and nothing. Everything bows before the Lord Most High.

I’ve been blessed with an amazing boyfriend who pushes me spiritually, though I often put up a fight because I’m so stubborn, and who discusses such deep issues in the Bible with me. There are so many things that we have been finding and reading that are so different from the way most of us are living. I would challenge you the same as he is challenging me and I am challenging him to look more sincerely, ways of the world and standards of society aside, at what the Bible has to say about everything, because anything you could ever want to find an answer on is somewhere in this precious book. Take a look and please do share what you find.

I can promise you that living a truly biblical lifestyle will not be the easiest – especially in a society that is so pervasive it has even burrowed into Christian culture and placed “standards” in our head that limit our faith. You will stand out. You won’t fit in. But you will be bringing the Kingdom of God down to this earth, and what could be better than living a life more closely with the one who created you and loves you best?

However hard and however much I fight with myself to change my ways, I choose to live a truly biblical lifestyle even if at times it doesn’t make sense to my friends, my family, my church and those around me. I choose to walk more closely in the footsteps of my Jesus, come what may, crazy as I may become. : )

Leave a Reply

