Back to School?

I’ve been thinking for a while now that I might want to go back to school. Crazy, right? I mean, I’ve already got my Bachelors degree in PR/Advertising and I’ve got my International Event and Wedding Professional certification. Why on earth would I be thinking of continuing to do more? Well, I’ve got a few good reasons…

  1. Experience. I am very grateful for the job I have right now and am enjoying so much of what I’m doing. However, I do know that I don’t want to be the Student Services/Marketing Coordinator forever and while I am getting some great experience while I’m here, some of the things I really enjoy and could see myself doing require even more knowledge that only more education could really give me.
  2. Knowledge. If you know me well you know that I have an absolute passion for learning. That’s something I’m seriously missing right now, and while spending money to go back to school isn’t the only way to learn things, I really want to have this passion put into something that could help me develop my career even further.
  3. Passion. I’m a passionate person – I’m decently sure that’s clear to 98% of the people I’ve ever interacted with. Regardless of what it’s about, you can tell I’ve got so much passion behind it, whether you think it’s good or bad. There are so many things that I’m passionate about that I would love to be able to get my hands into, but with the economy the way it is, good luck getting there without the right degrees or experience. I’m already doing some of the things I love and am passionate about, so why not go after the rest of it?

Okay, Hilary, you seem pretty certain about all this. So what’s the big issue? Why aren’t you starting all this stuff already?

To be honest, I’m not sure what direction to go! There are so many amazing schools, programs and types of completion certificates or degrees that I just don’t know what would be best for me and my career (and, not going to lie, my wallet as well). So, I’ve started a list of some of the programs I’m interested in from what schools. Here’s what I’ve gotten so far:

  • Graphic & Web Design Certificate from the Center of Digital Imaging Arts at Boston University
  • Masters of Science in Entertainment Business from Full Sail University
  • Masters of Business Administration in Human Resource Management from Franklin Pierce University
  • Masters Certificate in Human Resource Management from Franklin Pierce University
  • Masters of Business Administration in Hospitality and Tourism Management from Strayer University

I have considered actually going on to get my Masters in Public Relations, but I think any of these would be more fitting. Let me know what you all think – I would love to hear from my family and friends on this one! Certificate? Masters degree? What program? Or none at all?

Leave a Reply

