Dreams Come True (or Change)

This past week I’ve been hit by how much change one life can go through… Just looking back on my life, I remember so many dreams I had and so many things I knew I didn’t want…

  • When I was 4 years old, I wanted to be a ballerina [say what?] and wanted to be wherever my parents were
  • When I was 6 years old, I wanted to be a police officer and wanted to move back to North Carolina
  • When I was 10 years old, I wanted to be a blue alien named Deena and never wanted to leave northern Maine
  • When I was 12 years old, I wanted to be a singer and wanted to move back to northern Maine
  • When I was 15 years old, I wanted to be a graphic designer, wanted nothing to do with ministry, didn’t want to go to a Christian college and wanted to get as far away from New England as possible
  • When I was 18 years old, I wanted to be an advertising account executive working at Arnold Worldwide and a youth minister, wanted to go to a Christian college and wanted to get as far away from New Hampshire as possible
  • When  I was 19, I added to that dream that I wanted to live in a big city like New York or Charlotte
  • When I was 21 years old, I wanted to be an event planner, was about go graduate from a Christian college, and wanted to move to Virginia
  • When I was 22 years old, I wanted to be a photographer, had graduated from a Christian college, and wanted to stay in New Hampshire for as long as possible

I am now one month away from being 25 years old. I am a photographer. I am an event planner. I did graduate from a Christian college. I am involved in ministry. I do live in New Hampshire.

And now, as I am “halfway to 50”, I find myself excited and looking forward with new dreams and possibilities for my future…

  • I want to pay off my student loans in the next 3 years [I dream big]
  • I do not want to live in the city
  • I want to eventually run my own business as my full-time job – a business where photography, planning and weddings are the focus
  • I want to get my book published [working on this already – it’s just taking longer than I expected]
  • I want to get married someday and start my own wonderful family
  • I want to homeschool my kids [whoa, seriously?]
  • I want to buy a house in cash or check – no loans or mortgages allowed
  • I want to be the love of God to those the church has shunned, rejected, hurt or ignored

What are your goals and dreams compared to what they were when you were a kid? Are you seeing them come to fruition or are you seeing a shift in your dreams?

One Comment to “Dreams Come True (or Change)”

  1. Love it! Even learned some things about you that I didn’t know… I knew you when we were 10 and don’t remember anything about this ‘blue alien named Deena’ LOL. Love you and can’t wait to talk about all of our dreams when you’re HERE this weekend! :o)

Leave a Reply

